Reading, Writing & ‘Rithmetic

Reading a surprisingly good setting book by Mel Odom. Those of you who read Setting Books often (those are books set in a world which is not the Authors own…at least that’s what I call them anyway) will know Mel from his fine work for TSR or Wizards of the Coast depending on how old you are. He does excellent work as a whole and has won a few literary awards for it. Since I am as old as dirt now I was around when he first came out with a Novel in the Forgotten Realms Campaign Setting in the “Threat from the Deep” series. I’ve tried to follow his writing ever since.

At the moment his latest offering is Hellgate: Exodus which is based on the PC game Hellgate: London from the boys over at Flagship Stuidos whom you might remember from such games as Diablo and Diablo II. Since I have been a fanboy of those games since I owned a PC it was only natural I check out the new Hellgate game and it is a lovely creation that does it’s job of entertaining and drawing the player in quite well. It even plays decently on older PCs such as mine so I was much pleased with it overall.

Now add to this the fact that my friend Vicki loves games like this and has been looking for an excuse to jump ship from World of Warcraft and we both took to it like fish to water. A few days after we’d started playing together she mentioned to me that there was a novel series and she was reading the first book by “Some guy named Odom?” and I about peed myself when I asked “Mel Odom” and she confirmed it. I was out of my chair and off to the bookstore like a kid in a candy store. I was lucky enough to get the last copy they had of Mel’s new book and I am halfway through it now. Awesome book, Nuff Said. If you like anything Arcane or Sci-Fi this book will appeal to you on a deep level I think. It has my official recommendation!

While I was at the bookstore the owners (who know us by name since they get about $60-100 a month from us) asked me if I had ever written anything since I was such an avid reader. I told them I had written a few short pieces but hadn’t found the time or inspiration to really try anything close to a novel. Turns out they have writing classes at the bookstore every month so I might have to go check that out. I’ve always wanted to try my hand at writing something longer than a short story so perhaps this will work out for me.

And now for the ‘Rithmetic portion…my PC is on its last um Megs? I don’t know…anyway I need a new PC and today I learned that getting such a beast is going to run me over 1k so..ouch. Don’t have that and won’t for a while at least not to drop on a new PC anyway so hopefully the old girl holds up for me a few months longer.

That’s it for now!

2 Responses to “Reading, Writing & ‘Rithmetic”

  1. T.C. Robson Says:

    I absolutely loved Exodus. I’m waiting to get my hands on its follow-up, Goetia, right now. It was such an enthralling, exciting book, with an excellent story and detail. Mel’s a great author.

  2. Goetia is a great book as well! I just finished it not too long ago. One thing you’ll probably notice is the abundance of grammatical errors in it. I was honestly shocked by how many I picked out in the first couple hundred pages. Needless to say though it impressed me as well.

Leave a Reply

