Spring Devestation

I refuse to use such a mundane word as ‘Cleaning’ for what I have been doing these past two evenings. It just doesn’t adequately convey the disaster that is my house at this moment. In all fairness I must heap credit upon my wife for her part in this as she began the work while I was at work myself. However I pitched in as soon as I returned home and after almost 9 hours of cleaning, tossing, moving and laundry we now can almost make it to the far corner of our storage room.

Next on the agenda is drafting some of our more able bodied friends and family members to help lug an ancient (read: freaking heavy) hide-a-bed UP a flight of stairs and out the door so that it may be finally put to rest. That might take a while because to get to the hide-a-bed I have to get through the Bumper Pool table. They’ve been together for several years now and I don’t think she’s going to take it very well. Sucks to be her though because what I haven’t told her is she’s next on the chopping block.

Now once we get those two pieces of dead weight out the door it will be on to my own personal love. My Library as it were. I generally don’t throw out books when I buy them. I’ve been in this house for going on 14 years now. I read alot. Do some abstract math why dontcha? Oh and also I collected comics for about…8 years back in the day and I still have all of them.

My plan is to go book by book through the lot of them and see which ones I have read more than one time. Those can stay because they have proven they have value in a re-reading sense. All the others will get donated to the local area be it the Book Store, the Crisis Centre or whatever comes to mind. I refuse to throw a book in the garbage when it might bring someone else the same joy that I had upon first reading it.

In other news, I picked up the 20th Anniversary PSP Editions of Final Fantasy that came out before I owned a PSP and have been playing with them for a couple days now. I have to say that even with the age of the format I still get drawn into the stories of those games even though I have played them several times now.

Tomorrow Age of Conan comes out for the PC. I am on the fence about this, even though I have it Pre-Ordered. I have heard many good things about it from Beta Testers but I question my ability to get back into an MMO even if it is one for which I have long been a fan of the novels by Robert E. Howard. I stopped playing WoW when I got my Blood Elf Warlock to his Maximum Level because I am not a raider and I could see WoW slipping into the same trap as EverQuest albeit with much more grace.

Ah well I will get it, install it, patch it and try it out in the next few days to see if it is something I can enjoy despite the children that will no doubt infest it despite it’s M Rating from the ESRB. Look for a scintillating review in the near future =)

2 Responses to “Spring Devestation”

  1. Isn’t there a way to partially disassemble these things before you try to get them out of the house? It will be easier to fit through doors, down stairs and on your backs.

    Wow, that’s a lot of books. I like to keep all my books too but I don’t have that many in my flat. Most of them are still at my parents’ house (since I keep a room there for the summer and generally whenever I visit). You should definitely not throw them away you should NEVER throw books away. If you want to get rid of them you should do it properly and burn them. Don’t hold back. hehe

    I think giving them away or reselling them is the best way to go.

  2. Books… are a blessing – giving them to a hospital, age appropriate boxed (of course), is something that places you in the saintly category 😉

Leave a Reply

